The Golden Globes

The Golden Globes kicks off Hollywood’s award season every January ending with the Oscars in February. The Golden Globe Awards are are presented annually by the Hollywood Foreign Press Association in recognition of outstanding achievement in motion pictures and television. The first award ceremony wasn’t a lavish spectacle — just an informal lunch held at 20th Century Fox Studios — on February 11, 1944. In 1945, the Hollywood Foreign Press Association held its first formal gala and awards ceremony. However, the iconic Golden Globe statuette didn’t make its appearance until 1946 and a revamped version made its debut in 2019.

Golden Globes are given in several categories. The film awards include those for best motion picture, best actor and best actress, each separated into drama and musical or comedy divisions. Supporting acting performances, direction, screenwriting, music, animated films and foreign-language films are also honored. The television awards include those for drama series, comedy, musical, miniseries or television film, as well as for acting performances in each genre or format.

Visit for a complete list of nominees and winners — or learn more about the history of the Golden Globe Awards. Drop by your local branch and grab a copy of films and TV shows that have been nominated.

The Loudest Voice
Big Little Lies
Killing Eve
The Kominsky Method
The Crown
How to Train Your Dragon: The Hidden World
Toy Story 4
Game of Thrones
Mr. Robot
News & Blogs

Learning Center